Ollie has raised approximately $112.65 million in funding and in 2025 launched its baked turkey recipe in Petco stores, marking the fresh-DTC dog-food brand’s first major brick-and-mortar push (Source: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025).
Data note. This article is a review, not breaking news: the figures and market observations below are drawn from 2025 disclosures and reporting (see Sources) and are retained here as the historical record of that period. Read it as a retrospective on what happened and why it matters, not as a claim about current-quarter results.
ollie funding petco explained
Ollie is the fresh-dog-food challenger that built a reputation for vet-formulated, human-grade recipes and a high expert-review score before turning to retail. Its 2025 Petco debut is the clearest signal yet that the DTC fresh cohort is migrating into stores to capture the next wave of owners.
Ollie at a glance
Ollie sells personalized, human-grade fresh meals (beef, chicken, turkey, lamb) shipped frozen to subscribers, with a quiz-based plan tailored to each dog. It is frequently rated among the top fresh brands, scoring 8.2/10 in expert reviews (Source: owner forums / expert review roundups, 2025).
How much has Ollie raised?
Ollie has raised approximately $112.65 million in total funding to date, according to CB Insights tracking (Source: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025). That capital funded recipe R&D, supply-chain build-out, and customer acquisition. For context, the largest pure-play in the category—The Farmer’s Dog—reached ~$1.2B ARR in 2024 (Source: LinkedIn, indexed.vc 2024), so Ollie remains a challenger by scale but a credible top-tier brand by quality perception.
What is Ollie’s estimated revenue?
Ollie’s revenue has been estimated at $60M+ annually, placing it well behind The Farmer’s Dog but in the same conversation as other fresh specialists (Source: LinkedIn, CB Insights 2025). As a private company, Ollie does not disclose formal financials; the $60M+ figure is an industry estimate and should be read as approximate.
The Petco launch: fresh goes physical
What did Ollie launch in Petco in 2025?
In 2025 Ollie launched a baked turkey recipe in Petco stores, its first meaningful brick-and-mortar distribution (Source: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025). The “baked” format is shelf-stable relative to frozen fresh, making it practical for retail without cold-chain dependency at every step. This is a deliberate bridge product: it carries the Ollie brand into stores while the core subscription stays DTC/frozen.
Why is Petco a smart partner for Ollie?
Petco gives Ollie physical reach to owners who may not convert on a DTC quiz but will grab a trusted brand off a shelf. It also validates Ollie as a mass-premium player rather than a niche DTC-only label. For Petco, carrying Ollie is defense against Chewy’s autoship dominance (Chewy: $12.6B net sales, 83.3% autoship, Source: LinkedIn, Chewy IR 2025) and a way to capture fresh-demand in-store.
Why fresh-DTC is converging with retail
Is the DTC-only era ending for fresh pet food?
Increasingly, yes. The Farmer’s Dog went onto Walmart.com in 2025 (Source: LinkedIn, The Farmer’s Dog 2025), Ollie entered Petco, and Smalls expanded into 60+ Mud Bay stores (Source: LinkedIn, Smalls 2025). Pure DTC worked to prove the category, but paid-acquisition costs and the need for breadth are pushing brands into retail. The winners will be channel-agnostic.
How big is the fresh opportunity Ollie is chasing?
Fresh is the category’s growth engine. NielsenIQ measured refrigerated/frozen dog food growth of +13.4% in 2025 while total dog food fell −0.2% (Source: LinkedIn, NielsenIQ 2025). The U.S. fresh pet-food market was about $1.38B in 2025 and is forecast to hit $9.64B by 2035—a ~22.4% CAGR (Source: LinkedIn, Emergen Research 2025). Even a few points of that curve is a large prize for Ollie.
Ollie versus the fresh field
How does Ollie compare to The Farmer’s Dog and Smalls?
- The Farmer’s Dog — ~$1.2B ARR (2024), 1B+ meals, now on Walmart.com (Source: LinkedIn, indexed.vc / The Farmer’s Dog 2025). The scale leader.
- Ollie — $112.65M raised, ~$60M+ revenue, 8.2/10 expert score, now in Petco (Sources: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025). The retail-bridging challenger.
- Smalls — cat-focused, ~$100M cat-fresh revenue in 2025, 60+ Mud Bay stores (Source: LinkedIn, Smalls 2025). The cat specialist.
Ollie’s differentiator is the baked-shelf-stable retail format and a strong expert-review reputation. Its risk is being out-scaled by The Farmer’s Dog and out-focused by Smalls in cats.
What about Freshpet and the giants?
Freshpet ($1.10B FY2025 net sales, first net profit, ~30,235 doors, Source: LinkedIn, Freshpet IR 2025) owns refrigerated retail. The CPG majors are also moving: Nestlé Purina (~$22.15B pet division, Source: LinkedIn, Nestlé 2025), Hill’s (Colgate) bought fresh brand Prime100 (Source: LinkedIn, Hill’s 2025), and General Mills acquired Whitebridge for $1.45B (Source: LinkedIn, General Mills 2025). Ollie’s niche is brand trust and the baked retail entry—defensible if executed well.
Strategy and unit economics
Why raise $112.65M now?
The raise funds the retail expansion, manufacturing capacity for the baked line, and subscriber acquisition. Fresh-DTC is capital-hungry: cooking, freezing, and shipping at scale, plus marketing, require war-chest funding until contribution margin turns strongly positive. Ollie’s raise signals confidence that the Petco step can lift lifetime value faster than CAC.
Is Ollie profitable?
Ollie has not disclosed profitability. Like most fresh-DTC challengers, it is likely prioritizing growth and retail build-out over near-term net profit. Freshpet’s 2025 first profit is the category’s proof point that fresh can be durable and cash-generative (Source: LinkedIn, Freshpet IR 2025).
Risks and headwinds
How does regulation affect Ollie?
Fresh formats draw 2025 food-safety scrutiny. The H5N1 outbreak pushed the FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine to require H5N1 risk assessment in pet-food safety plans, tightening raw/fresh controls (Source: LinkedIn, BSM Partners 2025). Ollie cooks its recipes, a relative shield versus raw, but compliance cost rises for all fresh players. The EU PPWR recyclable-packaging mandate (2025/40) applies to any European expansion (Source: LinkedIn, Global PETS 2025).
What about competition and CAC?
Rising paid-social acquisition costs are the existential pressure on DTC fresh. Ollie’s Petco move is a direct answer: retail lowers marginal CAC and builds brand through physical presence. If the baked line sells, Ollie converts shelf browsers into DTC subscribers—the ideal funnel.
What it means for the industry
Why does Ollie’s Petco launch matter?
It confirms the fresh category’s second act: DTC proved demand, retail scales it. Ollie is the test case for whether a baked, shelf-stable fresh product can pull Petco shoppers into a subscription.
How should operators and investors read Ollie?
For investors, $112.65M raised plus Petco distribution is a bet on channel diversification and margin. For retailers, Ollie is a fresh anchor that competes with Chewy’s autoship without the cold chain. For challengers, the lesson is that retail partnership—not pure DTC—may be the scaling path.
Ollie’s product lineup and positioning
What recipes does Ollie offer?
Ollie’s core is personalized human-grade fresh meals—beef, chicken, turkey, and lamb—shipped frozen on subscription, complemented in 2025 by the baked turkey recipe for Petco’s shelf-stable retail format (Sources: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025). The baked line is the bridge between DTC and retail: it carries the brand in-store without full cold-chain dependency.
How does Ollie win on quality perception?
Ollie scores 8.2/10 in expert reviews, a reputation built on vet-formulated recipes and clean labels (Source: owner forums / expert roundups 2025). In a category where trust is the purchase trigger, a high review score is a customer-acquisition asset paid media alone cannot buy.
Why the baked format matters
A baked, shelf-stable recipe lets Ollie sit in Petco without the refrigerated logistics that constrain Freshpet and the frozen chain that constrains The Farmer’s Dog. That format flexibility is Ollie’s distinctive retail weapon and the reason its Petco launch is more than a marketing stunt.
Ollie’s funding history and investors
Ollie’s ~$112.65M total raise reflects investor conviction that fresh-DTC can scale beyond pure DTC. The capital funds manufacturing for the baked line and subscriber acquisition at a moment CAC is rising across the sector. For context, the largest peer—The Farmer’s Dog—reached ~$1.2B ARR, so Ollie remains a challenger by scale but a top-tier brand by quality (Sources: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights / indexed.vc).
Outlook for 2026
Watch whether the Petco baked line converts shelf browsers into DTC subscribers—the ideal funnel. If it does, Ollie’s $112.65M raise becomes fuel for a profitable retail-DTC hybrid (Source: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025).
Related reading
- The Farmer’s Dog ARR 2024: ~$1.2B and Walmart.com
- Smalls cat-fresh revenue 2025
- Freshpet revenue 2025: $1.10B and first profit
FAQ
Q: How much has Ollie raised?
A: Approximately $112.65 million in total funding to date, per CB Insights (Source: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025).
Q: What did Ollie launch in Petco in 2025?
A: A baked turkey recipe—its first major brick-and-mortar distribution—rolled out to Petco stores in 2025 (Source: LinkedIn, Ollie / CB Insights 2025).
Q: What is Ollie’s revenue?
A: Estimated at $60M+ annually; Ollie is private and does not disclose formal financials, so treat this as approximate (Source: LinkedIn, CB Insights 2025).
Q: How does Ollie compare to The Farmer’s Dog?
A: The Farmer’s Dog leads at ~$1.2B ARR and is on Walmart.com; Ollie is the retail-bridging challenger at $112.65M raised with a Petco baked line (Sources: LinkedIn, indexed.vc / Ollie 2025).
Q: Is Ollie profitable?
A: Not disclosed; like most fresh-DTC challengers it is prioritizing growth and retail build-out, while Freshpet provided the category’s 2025 profitability proof.
Sources
- Ollie / CB Insights (2025): $112.65M raised; ~$60M+ revenue estimate; baked turkey in Petco 2025; 8.2/10 expert score context.
- indexed.vc (2024): The Farmer’s Dog ~$1.2B ARR.
- The Farmer’s Dog (2025): Walmart.com expansion, 1B+ meals.
- Smalls (2025): ~$100M cat-fresh revenue; 60+ Mud Bay stores.
- Freshpet IR (2025): $1.10B net sales, first net profit, ~30,235 doors.
- Chewy IR (2025): $12.6B net sales, 83.3% autoship.
- NielsenIQ (2025): Refrigerated/frozen dog food +13.4% vs total dog food −0.2%.
- Emergen Research (2025): U.S. fresh pet food $1.38B (2025) → $9.64B (2035).
- Nestlé 2025 results (2025): Purina ~$22.15B.
- Hill’s / Colgate 2025 (2025): Prime100 fresh acquisition.
- General Mills IR (2025): Whitebridge $1.45B, 5th pet deal.
- BSM Partners (2025): H5N1 pet-food safety mandate.
- Global PETS (2025): EU PPWR 2025/40.